//
you're reading...
Breads, Recipes, Vegetables

Feeling Green, (In a good way!)

Tuesday Twister

http://gnowfglins.com/2010/01/12/tuesday-twister-blog-carnival-2010-01-12

For todays Tuesday Twister I thought I would share some “green” recipes, both of which are VERY good!

First………………………

Homemade Spinach Tortillas

We have eaten these with homemade tacos, as breakfast burritos and plain. The spinach flavor is not too pronounced so you could even use these in dessert tortilla recipes. These also have the added benefit of sourdough starter. YUM!

The tint on this picture is a little more yellow than real life, but you get the idea.

I added some sprouts on top of the eggs. So Good! I like throwing sprouts on just about everything when I have them. I have not been very consistent in growing sprouts. That is something I want to do more often, especially during the winter months.

Spelt Spinach Sourdough Tortillas

4-4½ cups fresh-ground spelt flour

1 tsp sea salt

1/3 cup grape seed oil or olive oil

1 cup hot water

1 cup fresh spinach

½ cup sourdough starter

Mix 4 cups flour and the sea salt together. Stir the oil into the dry ingredients until well blended. In a blender or food processor puree the spinach with the water. Add this and the sourdough starter to the flour mixture. Add more flour if needed, until the dough forms a ball. Cover and allow the dough to rest for 30 minutes. Break off walnut size pieces and roll out until very thin. Heat a cast iron skillet on medium high heat. Cook the tortillas on each side until brown spots appear, about 2-3 minutes per side. Keep warm until ready to serve.

My other recipe is also green and very tasty.

Potato Kale Curry Bisque

I absolutely love this soup! I love curry, and spicy foods, it just makes me happy. This soup can be a little too spicy for some, so if that is not something you enjoy cut out half of the curry powder.

You could even make this with zucchinni and or spinach. I think a zucchinni and spinach combination during the summer months, when you have too much zucchinni you don’t know what to do with, would be great.

For now, while I am trying to eat “winter” greens I am making this soup with kale, and loving it!

Potato Kale Curry Bisque

2 tbsp butter

2 tsp curry powder

1 medium sweet onion, chopped

¼ tsp fresh-ground black pepper

3 cups chicken broth

2 medium red potatoes

5 large leaves kale, chopped

1 stalk celery, chopped

1 tsp sea salt

1½ cups raw milk

Heat butter in a large saucepan. Add the chopped onion, curry powder, pepper, kale and celery. Stir and cook for 2-3 minutes. Add the broth, potato and salt. Simmer for 20 minutes for until the potato is tender.

Puree the soup with a stick blender or do it in batches in a blender. Add the raw milk and serve. Makes 6 servings.

Copyright © 2010

By Tiffany Perez

Tiffany’s Table L.L.C.

All Rights Reserved.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Feeling Green, (In a good way!)

  1. That soup is so pretty! And it sounds delicious! I’m always looking for good tortilla ideas, too. Thank you for sharing these!
    —Sonya

    Posted by Sonya Hemmings | January 13, 2010, 9:02 am
  2. Yumm, Tiffany! I’m glad you’re back doing the Tuesday Twister. I haven’t been very consistent with my sprouts this winter. I think we’re all noticing that we would benefit from more fiber. Must get cracking! Thanks for sharing your “green” recipes – I like them. 🙂

    Posted by Wardeh @ GNOWFGLINS | January 13, 2010, 3:20 pm
  3. Awesome! I was just wondering how to make tortillas today!

    Posted by Lyndsie | January 19, 2010, 10:21 pm

Leave a Reply

