//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Sourdough Spelt Bread/Tuesday Twister

Tuesday Twister

http://gnowfglins.com/2010/01/05/tuesday-twister-blog-carnival-2010-01-05

Okay……….I AM BACK! Sorry I don’t have any pictures for this recipe yet. I will try and get some to put on later.

I have been experimenting with sourdough, kefir and essential oils lately.

I have made sourdough biscuits, DELICIOUS! I need to tweek the recipe a little, but that will be coming soon. Sourdough spelt bread which is also VERY good, and I will post that recipe today.

I have FINALLY  made water kefir. My first attempt worked with the help of Wardeh over at www.gnowfglins.com Thanks again Wardeh!

I added pineapple juice to flavor it a little. It is good, a different flavor than I am used to, but very good. I made a “smoothie” with it that was to die for! I’ll post that recipe also, but don’t have a picture.

Now for essential oils……..I made homemade air freshener for Christmas gifts. I love the stuff. I have family members, including myself who react badly to chemicals of any kind. So natural air freshener is music to our noses! This recipe couldn’t be simpler!

Homemade Air freshener

8 oz. water

10 drops essential oil

Put them both in a spray bottle and………spray!

My daughter and I want to make our own perfume using a combination of essential oils. Anyone have suggestions?

I’ll be back with more recipes and pictures! Have a great day!

Sourdough Spelt Bread

1½ cups warm water

1 tsp instant yeast

1 tbsp raw honey

1 cup sourdough starter

2 tsp sea salt

1 tbsp butter

5-5½ cups fresh-ground spelt flour

            Mix water with yeast and honey. Allow this to rest 5 minutes. Add 3 cups flour, salt, sourdough starter and butter. Mix well. Continue adding flour a little at a time until the dough pulls away from the sides of the bowl. Knead or mix for 5 minutes.

            Place dough in a greased bowl, cover and let rise until double about 2 hours. Punch down dough, divide in half and shape into round loaves or place in bread pans. Cover and allow these to rise until double. Slice down the middle or crosswise to allow for expansion. Bake in a pre-heated 400°F oven for 20 minutes. Remove from bread pans and cool on cooling racks.

*I know this has yeast in it. You can try leaving the yeast our and allow for more rise time. I haven’t tried that yet, so I don’t know how it would turn out.

This recipe makes great sandwich bread.

Kefir Smoothie

2-3 cups pineapple flavored water kefir

2 big handfuls of frozen strawberries

1 apple

1 banana

1 tbsp raw honey, more or less to your liking

  Place all ingredients in a blender and puree. Enjoy!

If you have ever had real fruit popsicles, that is what this tastes like.

Copyright © 2010

By Tiffany Perez

Tiffany’s Table L.L.C.

All Rights Reserved.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Sourdough Spelt Bread/Tuesday Twister

  1. I hadn’t thought of making smoothies out of water kefir. Brilliant.

    Posted by Millie@Real Food for Less Money | January 5, 2010, 8:51 pm
  2. Here’s a chart on how much alcohol to use for perfume/body sprays.

    For scent combinations, how about lavender and rose geranium?

    Posted by Rebecca | January 6, 2010, 3:04 am

Leave a Reply

