//
you're reading...
Comfrey Salve, Recipes, Sides, Vegetables

Tuesday Twister–Roasted Beet Soup and Comfrey Salve

Tuesday Twister

http://gnowfglins.com/2009/10/27/tuesday-twister-blog-carnival-2009-10-27/

For this weeks tuesday twister I am really lacking. I have been cooking, just no pictures. And to tell you the truth my cooking has been a little bit of this and a little bit of that, so I don’t know that pictures would have turned out anyway.

Roasted Beet Soup tops the list. I called this “Girlie Soup” The color is amazing, the nutritional benefits very good. But…………………………..I would have rather just eaten the roasted vegetables. I’m not much of a “pureed” soup kind of girl.

If you like pureed soup, you will love this!

IMG_0073

Roasted Beet Soup

3 medium beets, trimmed, peeled and cut into ½ inch cubes

1 large sweet onion, chopped

½ acorn squash, peeled and cut into ½ inch cubes

1 red bell pepper, chopped

3 cloves garlic, peeled

2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil or coconut oil

2 cups apple cider or apple juice

2 cups chicken stock

½-1 tsp sea salt

¼ tsp fresh ground black pepper

Dash of cayenne pepper

            Pre-heat oven to 400°F. Toss all of the vegetables with olive oil then spread in a single layer on a baking sheet. Season with salt and pepper then bake for about 45 minutes or until the vegetables are soft.

            In a large saucepan simmer apple cider, chicken stock and vegetables for 15 minutes.

            Puree soup in small batches in a blender or food processor until smooth. Add water or more stock to reach desired consistency. Serve hot with a dollop of sour cream on top.

The other thing I have to share is Comfrey Salve. Sorry I don’t have any pictures–they got deleted off my camera:(

This stuff is AMAZING!!! I cannot say enough good about it. We use it for minor cuts, scrapes, burns, rashes, bruises, etc etc etc. It also helps with the pain of each of these.

A boy in my son’s class at school got this TERRIBLE rash on his face. It started around chapped lips and progressed to cover one whole cheek and part of the other. It was cracked, red, swollen, scaley and yucky looking. The poor kid looked like he had red clown make-up on. His mom had taken him to the doctor, so they had him on 2 different antibiotics and some cream of some sort. None of this was making a difference.

So……………I offered her some Comfrey Salve to try. She said, “I’ll try ANYTHING!”

I gave it to her last friday. They used it friday, saturday and sunday night. By monday morning when I saw him at school I couldn’t believe the difference. ALL of the scales where gone, it was not cracked looking anymore, and the redness had decreased greatly!

I am going to make a declaration!

I LOVE COMFREY SALVE!! PLEASE TRY IT THIS STUFF IS AMAZING!

Comfrey is an herb. You can grow your own (VERY EASY) or I have seen it dried in Health Foods Stores.

Comfrey Salve

2 cups dehydrated crushed, comfrey leaves (you can use fresh, just double the amount)

            Cover the herb with water and simmer 15-30 minutes.  Strain completely, save the

            water and discard the leaves.

1 2/3 cups extra-virgin olive oil

            Add the oil to the water above and boil until all the water is completely gone.

1 ¼ cups yellow beeswax

This is an approximate amount.  Add it a little at a time by grating it into the oil and melting it.  Pour a little out into a glass bowl to test for desired consistency.  It

            should be something like the texture of Vaseline or slightly thicker.  When you

            have reached desired consistency, strain through a cheesecloth.  At this point you

            can add a few drops of Lavender essential oil for a milder smell.  Pour into

            containers.

Yield  7-9    2-oz. jars

Copyright © 2009

By Tiffany Perez

Tiffany’s Table L.L.C.

All Rights Reserved.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Tuesday Twister–Roasted Beet Soup and Comfrey Salve

  1. Tiffany, that is a girlie soup! Very pretty! That’s an amazing story with the comfrey salve. I used to make some when Mikah was little and had eczema – it made a big difference! Thanks for sharing in the Twister.

    Posted by Wardeh@GNOWFGLINS | October 27, 2009, 11:45 pm
  2. I’m really keen on home remedies. How long does your comfrey salve remain potent?

    Thanks!

    Posted by Ren | October 28, 2009, 4:15 am
  3. I’m going to try the comfrey salve! My son and I both get a spot of eczema here and there. It’s so much better now that we’re eating real food though! I’ve been using Burt’s Bees Res Q Ointment. It works great, but I’m not happy that it’s now owned by Clorox! Thanks for the recipe!

    I LOVE roasted beets, but I think I prefer them whole, rather than pureed too. 🙂

    Posted by Jen | October 30, 2009, 11:38 am
  4. Hi Tiffany, I can’t wait to try your salve! I even have everything I need to make it. I made some comfrey infused oil at the beginning of summer and used it for one batch of lotion that sadly ran out long before my garden did. I haven’t had time to make more but this salve would be great to have on hand and give as Christmas gifts (followed you from Kimi’s blog).

    Great idea!

    Posted by sustainableeats | November 3, 2009, 8:18 am

Leave a Reply

