//
you're reading...
Main Dish, Recipes, Vegetables

Interesting food for us………

We have been having some interesting food lately.

First is the Elk Chili (which isn’t all that different) but new for us. Thanks Bob and Kristina.

I think this was the best chili I have ever made. The only problem is that I didn’t write down any sort of a recipe. Sorry. I can tell you, that I sprouted the beans before making the chili. I did a lot at once so I froze the other half of the beans for another meal later on. Love it!

IMG_0016

This is what was in the recipe.

Sprouted beans (kidney, pinto, small red beans)

Elk meat

Onions, garlic, paprika, chili powder, cayenne, black pepper, oregano, cumin, sea salt

Dehydrated green and red pepper

1 can tomatoes

Homemade beef stock and some water (I didn’t have enough stock)

Simmered in a crock pot all night.

The next dish is Roast Rabbit (thank you Marty and Sarah)

I have to tell you that I was a little apprehensive about this one. Miguel went to help slaughter rabbits (that they raise for meat) with some good friends of ours, so they gave us one to try.

I WAS going to crockpot the rabbit, but ran out of time so I decided to roast it like a chicken. I was sure the meat was going to turn out tough as leather.

We were VERY pleasantly surprised!! This rabbit was the best “chicken” we have ever had! It was very moist, lean and honestly tasted better than chicken.

These pictures really don’t do it justice.

I made a greek salad to go with the rabbit, so I told my kids that we were having greek chicken……………………they didn’t buy it:)

IMG_0019

I slathered the rabbit with garlic, paprika, sea salt and black pepper. With just a little dab of butter across the top.

IMG_0023

Look how delicious!

For those of you who want to know where your food is coming from, you might consider raising your own “greek chicken” in your backyards. It’s a great idea!

IMG_0029

This is the greek salad. It has…………………….

romaine lettuce, kale, tomatoes, red bell pepper, cucumbers, onion, black olives and feta cheese.

I made a simple dressing with………………….

olive oil

raw-apple cider vinegar

spices

sea salt

Discussion

One thought on “Interesting food for us………

  1. Those ARE interesting! Your family is brave! And your friends are generous. Looks like a fun few days. 🙂

    Posted by Wardeh @ GNOWFGLINS | October 6, 2009, 11:22 pm

Leave a Reply

