//
you're reading...
Dips, Sauces, and Spreads, Recipes

Peach Freezer Jam

I have a recipe for Berry Freezer Jam, which we made at my last class.

A brilliant person in this class asked if I had ever made Peach Freezer Jam. I say “brilliant” because I have a whole bunch of peaches right now and didn’t want to just can them. I wanted to do something new and different with them.

So I made Peach Freezer Jam. It turned out REALLY good. I can eat it plain, on toast, in yogurt, etc etc. You could eat it on ice-cream or on biscuits or pancakes, waffles the possibilities are endless!

jamjamajamamaa

This (very yellow) picture is before they were frozen. The recipe I used, made a total of 2 pints of jam.

jammamamajammamaa2

This (much better picture) is after the jam was frozen for 24 hours.

This jar is already gone. It tasted so good. The flavor reminds me of peach cobbler made with fresh peaches.

In the recipe I don’t cook all of the peaches.  I wanted to retain the fresh peach taste. It is SUPER easy to make. Give it a try.

Peach Freezer Jam

 

1 medium sized apple, peeled and finely chopped (this replaces pectin)

8 medium peaches, peeled and chopped

Raw honey to taste

½ tsp cinnamon

 

            Heat a large pan of boiling water. Drop the peaches in a few at a time for about 30 seconds, or until the skins will slide off. Take them out of the boiling water and place into a bowl of very cold water. Peel the skins off, pit them and chop them.

            In a large sauce pan, cover and heat the apple and 2 peaches until the apple has cooked and is tender, about 30 minutes. Stir frequently. Remove from the heat, stir in the remaining peaches, cinnamon and raw honey. Mash with a potato masher until you reach your desired texture.

            Cool then pour into half pint canning jars, leaving ½ inch head space. Place a ring and cap and freeze.

Copyright © 2009

By Tiffany Perez

Tiffany’s Table L.L.C.

All Rights Reserved.

 

Discussion

One thought on “Peach Freezer Jam

  1. Beautiful! We’ve loads of peaches from the market and I’m looking for unique – but healthy – ways to use them. The last thing I want to do is load up these beautiful organic peaches with sugar! I really like your inclusion of cinnamon.

    Posted by Jenny @ Nourished Kitchen | September 22, 2009, 9:51 pm

Leave a Reply

