//
you're reading...
Appetizers, Recipes, Vegetables

The Best Tomato Salad and Tuesday Twister

Tuesday Twister

http://gnowfglins.com/2009/09/08/tuesday-twister-blog-carnival-2009-09-08/

This is the absolute, hands down BEST tomato salad you will ever eat! We love this salad, especially with some good homemade bread to dip in the juices. You HAVE to try this one.

salado tomato

We also had fresh corn, and homemade garlic bread. YUM!

salado tomato con queso

I am sure I cooked other things this week. Um……………I think I cooked more food………………I must have cooked more food. Sorry no pictures.

We made Chilean Empanadas both the meat and cheese variety, and……….quinoa tabouli………………..and we have been eating lots of fresh fruit from the farmers market. Peaches to die for, nectarines from our own tree, watermelon, canteloupe, honeydew melon etc. etc.

Chilean Tomato Salad

 

6 medium to large tomatoes

½ medium onion, thinly sliced (you can use yellow, or sweet)

2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil, or grape seed oil

2 tbsp raw, apple cider vinegar

Sea salt to taste

¼ cup chopped cilantro (optional)

½ cup thinly-sliced cucumber (optional)

 

Place the sliced onion in a bowl with water to cover, generously sprinkle with salt and mix. Let the onions soak while preparing the rest of the salad, or about 15 minutes. Wash tomatoes, slice about ¼ inch thick.

Place tomatoes, and the juice that comes from them, into a large bowl. Add oil, vinegar and salt. Squeeze onions with your hands while rinsing them in cold water.  Do this a couple of times.

Add the onions to the tomatoes, and mix well.  If you are using the optional cucumbers and cilantro, add them now. Serve this salad with garlic bread or toast. This is best at room temperature.  Refrigerate any leftovers.

Copyright © 2009

By Tiffany Perez

Tiffany’s Table L.L.C.

All Rights Reserved.

 

Discussion

6 thoughts on “The Best Tomato Salad and Tuesday Twister

  1. Thank you so much Tiffany. I love salads and will definitely try this one since we have so many tomatoes and cucumbers in our gardern. And today I bought some organic apple cider vinegar at the health food store. So this will be on our menu for tomorrow.

    I also found some walnuts like you said, soaked them and air-dried them. WOW they were so much better and they didn’t cause cankor sores on my tongue. Thanks for this tip.

    Posted by marly67 | September 9, 2009, 7:06 am
    • I hope you like the salad as much as we do. And I am really glad that you liked the walnuts so much. It is nice to know people are getting something out of my blog.

      Posted by tiffanystable | September 9, 2009, 2:42 pm
  2. I’ve got to try your tomato salad! Thanks for sharing it in the Twister. I wish I could eat the pictured meal for my lunch today. 🙂 Love, Wardeh

    Posted by Wardeh @ GNOWFGLINS | September 9, 2009, 5:53 pm
  3. That tomato salad sounds wonderful.

    Posted by Millie | September 9, 2009, 7:01 pm
  4. Yeah!!!! I am soooo excited to make this. I love this salad!!! I have been asking for this recipe FOREVER! Thanks for sharing.

    Posted by Melody | September 9, 2009, 9:16 pm
  5. Tiffany, that tomato salad looks too pretty to eat, but I’m sure I could get past that and dig in! Thanks for sharing it!
    —Sonya

    Posted by Sonya Hemmings | September 10, 2009, 9:06 am

Leave a Reply

