//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Tuesday Twister time…………

tuesdaytwister

http://gnowfglins.com/2009/08/11/tuesday-twister-blog-carnival-2009-08-11/

Okay, I am going to start with the good things.

White Bean and Whole Grain Pasta Soup

IMG_0301

Sprouted Wheat Soaked Oatmeal Cookies

IMG_0390

Chewy, crunchy, buttery goodness!! If you want the recipe go to my previous post.

Now for the mess ups!

IMG_0306

The picture doesn’t look bad, but the beans were tough. I have tried on numerous occassions to make baked beans and they always turn out tough. I have them perfectly cooked then once I add raw honey or other natural sweeteners they toughen up. EVERY time I have tried this that has happened. Anyone have any suggestions? Please give me some advice.

My other big mess up for the week is that I ruined about 12 cups of sprouted wheat. I didn’t rinse them enough and they turned rancid. Bummer. I didn’t realize what I had done until I tried dehydrating them in my oven and my whole house smelled like stinky feet.

So just a word of advice, don’t forget or put off rinsing your sprouts!!

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Tuesday Twister time…………

  1. I wish I had advice for you on the tough beans. If you get the answer be sure and let me know! However, maybe baking soda (which helps with gassiness) might help with this, too? Try adding some to the cooking water and see what happens.

    Thanks for participating in the Tuesday Twister! Would you add the link to this week’s TT to your post? http://gnowfglins.com/2009/08/11/tuesday-twister-blog-carnival-2009-08-11/

    Posted by Wardeh @ GNOWFGLINS | August 11, 2009, 8:07 pm
  2. The cookies look delicious.
    Your beans are fine until you add the sweetener? hmmm. That is a puzzle.

    Posted by Millie | August 11, 2009, 10:03 pm
  3. The soup and cookies look delicious!

    I can’t help you with the baked beans, but they do look good in the photo. 🙂

    Posted by appliejuice | August 12, 2009, 1:52 am
  4. Your soup looks delicious – summery and fresh!

    I’m not a big baked bean fan so I’ve never tried to make them. However, have you tried a different sweetener? It could be some kind of reaction between the beans and the honey. I have also heard you really shouldn’t cook or bake with honey. You might try rapadura or a little molasses?
    Good luck!
    Sarah

    Posted by Sarah Schatz - menu planners for limited diets | August 12, 2009, 8:09 pm
    • This last time I tried evaporated cane juice and molasses, it still didn’t work. Maybe I’m just doing something esle wrong?
      The soup was good, thanks!!

      Posted by tiffanystable | August 13, 2009, 1:24 am

Leave a Reply

