//
you're reading...
Breads, Breakfast, Recipes

Sprouted Wheat Biscuits

In my last post about biscuits I stated that I don’t really care for them much. WELL……..I think I found MY biscuit! These tasted delicious!

100_7998This is how I cut them out. ONLY once. When you mess with the dough too much they get tough. So I would rather have mishapen biscuits than tough biscuits.

100_8001

Melt in your mouth good!

Biscuits

 

3 ½ cups fresh-ground whole wheat or spelt flour

2 cups plain yogurt

6 tbsp cold butter

1 ½ tsp sea salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp aluminum-free baking powder

White flour

 

Pre-heat oven to 400°F. Whisk dry ingredients together. Cut butter into dry ingredients, mix until butter is pea size. Add yogurt and mix until well blended. Dust work surface with white flour, then pat out dough using your hands to about ½ inch thick. Cut with biscuit cutter or and empty glass.

Place onto parchment lined baking sheet. Bake 25-30 minutes. Top with raw honey and butter or naturally sweetened jam.

 *If you are wheat sensitive, soak flour and yogurt in a bowl overnight or at least 7 hours at room temperature. Add remaining ingredients and bake.

Copyright © 2009

By Tiffany Perez

Tiffany’s Table L.L.C.

All Rights Reserved.

**In the above recipe I used sprouted wheat, that was dehydrated then ground into flour. Therefore I did not soak the flour. I also used raw milk in place of the yogurt. I had to use less milk though.

I don’t know if I am making any sense, it’s very late, time for bed! Goodnight!

 

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

