//
you're reading...
Breads, Breakfast, Recipes

Cracked Wheat Raisin Bread

This bread is SOOOOO good! A friend made it for us about 15 years ago. I had forgotten about it all this time. The other day I remembered, and found I still had the recipe. Glad I tried it! I of course adapted it to be made with whole wheat and honey instead of white flour and sugar.

100_5534

Notice that the dough is very shaggy, it did not pull away from the sides while mixing. That is important because you don’t want the dough to be to heavy.

 

100_5536Here is the dough all ready to rise. It should rise to double in size.

 

100_5549

Here they are on the baking sheet, already risen again. When you make this be sure to make 3 LOAVES. Because these are so large, they had a hard time cooking through. It is also important to slice the tops, to allow expansion.

100_5551

Looking good, they are a little to brown because they turned out to be gargantuan loaves. Like I said earlier, I should have made 3 loaves.

I also forgot to brush the tops with egg. So I guess you can leave out that little step as well. It would look prettier to have the egg wash, it’s totally up to you!

The taste of this bread is REALLY good. It is sweet enough, but not too sweet. You can eat it plain or with a little butter on top. This recipe is a keeper!

Cracked Wheat Raisin Bread

 

2 cups boiling water

1½ cups cracked wheat or very coarsely ground wheat

1 cup raisins

1/3 cup raw honey

2 tsp sea salt

3 tbsp butter

2/3 cup warm water

2 tbsp instant yeast

4-5 cups fresh-ground whole wheat flour

1 egg (optional)

 

            Boil the water, remove from the heat and stir in the cracked wheat, raisins, honey, salt and butter. Set aside and allow this to cool. In a mixing bowl add 2/3 cup water, yeast and 2 cups of flour. Mix. Stir in the cracked wheat mixture, then add the remaining flour. You want the dough to be shaggy and slightly sticky. Knead for 6 minutes.

            Place in a buttered bowl, cover and allow it to rise until double. About 60 minutes. Divide the dough into 2 pieces. Shape into 2 balls and place on a greased baking sheet. Slash a lattice design on the top. Cover and allow it to rise until double. About 45 minutes.

            Brush the tops of the bread with the beaten egg. Bake in a pre-heated 350° F

oven for 45 minutes

*You may need to adjust the baking time when making 3 loaves.

Copyright © 2009

By Tiffany Perez

Tiffany’s Table L.L.C.

All Rights Reserved.

 

 

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Cracked Wheat Raisin Bread

  1. Looks delicious, Tiffany! I could probably make this with my sprouted spelt flour. I know everyone would love it!

    ~Wardeh

    Posted by Wardeh @ GNOWFGLINS™ | June 1, 2009, 5:10 pm
  2. Wardeh,
    Yes you could use your sprouted spelt flour. This is the best raisin bread I have made so far. Good luck.
    By the way, the Kefir sounds great! I have had kefir before but haven’t made it myself. Shame on me!

    Posted by tiffanystable | June 1, 2009, 9:15 pm
  3. Tiffany – well, shame on me, too, then! I should have done much of this stuff ages ago, too!

    I need to do another big batch of spouted spelt and then I’ll try the raisin bread. Can’t wait!

    Posted by Wardeh @ GNOWFGLINS™ | June 1, 2009, 9:34 pm
  4. Wardeh,
    I’d love to hear how your raisin bread turns out!

    Posted by tiffanystable | June 2, 2009, 7:32 pm

Leave a Reply

