//
you're reading...
Desserts, Recipes

Rhubarb Season

Rhubarb…..is it a fruit, vegetable or an herb? The question remains!

For me, I am not sure what all the fuss is over rhubarb. I really don’t think it is all that great. Maybe I don’t have a good enough recipe? Maybe I haven’t eaten it enough? Maybe it is just not my thing. Maybe I don’t see the point in putting 4 cups of rhubarb in a recipe and in order for it to be edible you have to add 2 cups of sweetener? Is it really healthy or worth eating after that?

I would like to see some SAVORY recipes using rhubarb, maybe that is the way to go?

My kids LOVE to eat fresh, raw rhubarb with salt. Bleck!

With all of that being said—-I have made Rhubarb Crisp. I think it is still too tart, but I suppose you could add more sweetener or more ice cream to eat with it? I don’t think I will make this again. The raisins did add a nice touch to the dish.

100_5561Sliced rhubarb with the spices and lemon zest.

100_5564Stir in the remaining ingredients and pour into a greased, square baking dish.

100_5579This is what it looks like after it is baked.

I purposely left off the “crisp” topping while baking it, because I don’t like soggy crisp topping.

100_5555This is my Soaked Granola, which I have added extra spices (cinnamon and nutmeg) and almonds.

Then I just sprinkled this on top of each serving, while the rhubarb was still warm.

100_5597This is how my family ate it. With Aldens Blackberry Ice Cream.

100_5605This is how I ate it. With maple sweetened yogurt.

 

 

 

 

 

Rhubarb Crisp

 

4 cups rhubarb chopped into ½ inch pieces

Zest from 1 lemon

1 tsp cinnamon

¼ tsp nutmeg

1/3 cup raw honey

1/3 cup raisins

1 tbsp water, more if needed

2 tbsp fresh-ground whole wheat

Pinch of sea salt

Topping (Soaked Granola)

 

            Wash and cut the rhubarb then place in a bowl. Add the lemon zest, cinnamon, nutmeg and honey. Puree the raisins with the water in a blender or food processor then stir the raisins into the rhubarb mixture. Sprinkle in the flour and salt and mix. Pour into a greased, square baking dish. Bake in a pre-heated 350°F oven for 20 minutes.

Copyright © 2009

By Tiffany Perez

Tiffany’s Table L.L.C.

All Rights Reserved.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

