//
you're reading...
Main Dish, Recipes

Beef Stew–Crock pot style

100_5289So a couple of weeks ago, maybe last week. Who knows they all run together! I got this craving for my mom’s dutch oven stew. I had everything I needed, Yea right? Then I went to get my dutch oven out, it’s not there! I accidentally packed it and put it in storage, BUMMER! Alas, it is not the end of the world! I have a crockpot!

The stew turned out great, (although I think it would have been even better in a dutch oven), it reminded me that I have a crock pot and need to use it more often.

Mom’s Dutch Oven Beef Stew

 

2 lbs. stew meat

Sea salt, pepper and paprika

¼ cup fresh-ground whole wheat or spelt flour

4 tbsp butter, or coconut oil

1 tsp sea salt

3 tbsp prepared mustard

2½ cups water

1 medium onion, chopped

3-4 carrots, chopped

3-4 potatoes, chopped

1 rib celery, chopped

1 cup fresh or frozen peas

 

Pre-heat oven to 350°F.  Heat oil in Dutch oven. Season stew meat with salt, pepper and paprika then roll in flour. Brown meat in oil, set aside. Stir the rest of the flour into the oil to brown. Slowly add water stirring constantly.

Place meat in the liquid, cover and cook for 1 hour. Then add all the vegetables except the peas. Cover and cook until the carrots are tender about 1½ hours. Stir in the peas just before serving.

**When cooking in a crock pot; after browning the meat, add all of the ingredients to the crock pot and cook according to manufacturers directions. Usually 4-5 hours on high and 7-8 hours on low.

Copyright © 2009

By Tiffany Perez

Tiffany’s Table L.L.C.

All Rights Reserved.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

