//
you're reading...
Appetizers, Main Dish, Recipes, Snacks

Tiffany’s Chicken Nuggets

100_5209

Not the most appetizing picture….I know! I just had to show it because it took me FOREVER to carve this much chicken off of the 40 pound BLOCK of chicken I got from the freezer. When I brought home the 40 pound box of chicken breast about 2 months ago, I had to run out the door and didn’t have time to separate them into serving sizes.  I asked my husband to put them in the (outside) fridge for me, he thought I said outside freezer. Needless to say it’s been sitting there ever since, wasn’t quite sure what to do with it after it was frozen into a 40 pound brick? When I finally opened it, I was happily surprised to see that there were 4 separate bags. So we hammered them apart and I as able to get out 1 block. We ate chicken A LOT that week.

My next plan will be to pressure cook, can the rest. GREAT for food storage!

100_5211

This is cornstarch, not white flour.

100_5214

The rest of the ingredients are mixed into a batter.

100_5216

Coconut oil is the absolute BEST for deep frying. It handles the heat VERY well, and the taste can’t compare to anything else I have tried! French fries, donuts, empanadas, you name it, all taste better in coconut oil.

I will be posting pictures, and recipes for Chilean Empanada’s later!!

100_5217

My kids LOVED these, yours will too!

Chicken Nuggets

 

4-5 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

½ cup cornstarch

1 large egg

¾ cup cold water

¾ cup fresh-ground whole wheat flour

1 tsp sea salt

¼ tsp black pepper

½ tsp paprika

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp onion powder

Coconut oil for frying

 

            In a medium sized bowl beat the egg then add the water. Stir in the flour, and spices. Set aside. Place the cornstarch on a plate. Cut the chicken into about ½ inch pieces. Heat the coconut oil about 1 inch deep in a cast iron skillet to about 360°-370°F.

            Dredge the chicken in the cornstarch. Then roll in the batter. Place in batches in the oil to cook. Cook on each side for about 3-4 minutes or until browned. Remove to paper towels.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

