//
you're reading...
Breads, Main Dish, Recipes

Sprouted Wheat Pizza Dough

Here is the sprouted wheat pizza dough. I like this better than my other pizza dough recipe. So much food, so little time!

done done done

My kids like plain pizza’s, and I didn’t want to make separate ones since I was using my pizza stone. So I just did half and half.

One side is homemade pizza sauce with mozzarella, Monterey  jack and parmesan cheese. The other side has olives, onions, red bell pepper, kale and artichoke hearts. I later added the cheese mixture above plus feta cheese. SO GOOD!

**This is a new trick I learned. If you don’t want soggy pizza, bake your pizza WITHOUT the cheese first. Add the cheese for the last 2 minutes of baking time. It turns out perfect everytime!

blah blah blah pizza done

blah blah pizza done done 2

Go ahead…….take one…………I’ll share!

Sprouted Wheat Pizza Dough

 

1¾ cups warm water

1 tsp instant yeast

¼ cup olive oil

2-3 cups fresh-ground sprouted wheat flour

1¾ tsp sea salt

 

            Mix water and yeast together. Stir in olive oil and 1 cup sprouted wheat flour. Allow this to rest for 10 minutes. Add 1 more cup of flour and the salt. Mix until well blended and continue adding flour until the dough pulls away from the sides of the mixing bowl. Knead for 8 minutes.

            Place in a greased bowl, cover and allow it to rise for 1 -2 hours. Pre-heat oven to 450°F with pizza stone in the oven.

 

Put sauce and vegetables bake for 8 minutes (thin crust)

Take out, add the cheese and bake for another 1-2 minutes.

Copyright © 2009

By Tiffany Perez

Tiffany’s Table L.L.C.

All Rights Reserved.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Sprouted Wheat Pizza Dough

  1. Thank…going to try this one!

    Posted by Diana | May 28, 2010, 7:40 pm
    • How do you make sprouted wheat flour? I’ve sprouted wheat but now I don’t know what to do with it. Thank you! Beautiful pizza!

      Posted by Jenni | October 17, 2010, 9:22 pm
      • For baking I only sprout my wheat until the little white sprout pokes it’s little head out. I then dehydrate the grains (either in a dehydrator or on a very low oven temp) Then I just grind as needed. I have a nutrimill for grinding grains.
        I have found that sprouted wheat doesn’t work good for bread, but is great for cookies, pie crust or quick breads like banana bread. It works okay for pizza crust also. If you want a really good pizza crust you can either soak the flour or make sourdough pizza crust. A good resource for sourdough recipes is http://www.gnowfglins.com I am currently taking her sourdough eCourse, and it is amazing.
        Le me know if you have any other questions.
        good luck,
        Tiffany

        Posted by tiffanystable | October 18, 2010, 7:21 pm
  2. YUMMY

    Posted by maram | July 1, 2010, 12:35 am
  3. I’ve been using freshly ground sprouted soft white wheat berries for cookies, quick breads and corn bread. They all seem to turn out crumbly. Any suggestions? Thanks

    Posted by Marcee | November 17, 2010, 11:10 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

